Swim days are different.

All day my mind is on swimming.

The anticipation of the swim

Excited nervousness

Builds throughout the day.

For hours beforehand

I’m swimming all those lengths

In my mind.

Thoughts of what I need to do

Areas to work on

Improvements to make

My personal best time and pace

Imprinted on me

Like goggle marks on my face.

Regularly, I check to see

How many other swimmers are booked

At the same time.

I pray for solitude

Wish for the ability to just swim

Without having to stop or slow

For other swimmers.

I have my goal; my target

One focus – just swim.

No time for others.

My swim is not recreational

It’s a challenge.

Me versus the clock.

Me versus myself.

1 thought on “Friday Poem #229: Swim Days

  1. Pauline Cavie

    So, how was it? 💦🏊‍♀️🏊‍♂️🏊Confession time: I wouldn’t be fighting you for a place at that hot, smelly, chlorinated pool because….I can’t swin!🤣🧜‍♀️

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment