Friday Poem #357: 12th and Long

12th and Long

I hope for joy, but am braced for pain

In this year’s first black Friday game.

The Dolphins and the Jets will meet

There will be victory and defeat.

I’ll wear my shirt – Quinnen 95

Shout my frustration, roar with pride

Look through my fingers at the toil

A season’s hopes rests with Tim Boyle.

Unfair pressure? Well, that’s the truth

Our hopes and dreams were through the roof

When Aaron Rodgers joined gang green

But there was no resurgence to be seen

Hope and that Achilles torn

Our season died before it was born.

Zach stepped up – and showed some sparks

But all too few, and things went dark.

We’re 4 and 6, running out of time

A revolving door for our O-line

One touchdown scored in 46 drives

Do you know what this does to the lives

Of ordinary fans who watch each week

That promising picture get increasingly bleak.

Bleak Friday should be today’s name

We’re facing Tua, and the Fin’s great game

Sat rightly atop the AFC East

They are a machine, a force, a beast.

But fandom isn’t a fair weather sport

You support your team when they fall short

Just as much when they run a mile

You share the tears as well as smiles.

So I’ll cheer the Jets – that will not change

Though our relationship may be strained

And watching them destroys my nerves

I hope that I’ll get what we deserve:

Completed passes, some decent runs

An avoidance of turnovers would be fun.

A victory may be to much to hope

But improved performance – with that I can cope

Let’s just take it one play at a time

And maybe play like we’re in our prime.

J – E – T – S

JETS!

JETS!

JETS!

1 thought on “Friday Poem #357: 12th and Long

Leave a comment